Musical Monday – Wolfheart: Winterborn Review

Here we go with another Musical Monday post! I’m actually starting to really enjoy these, because they’ve given me a reason to not only share bands that I’ve been listening to for years, but also to go out and find new bands on my own to listen to. I’ve been trying to balance out one band I’ve followed and loved, followed with a band I’ve discovered, and then switch between the two.

I just might start asking for suggestions on my various different social media websites. Maybe even expand a little bit from metal.

Speaking of metal, this is probably going to be the last Death/Doom/Gloom/Heavy metal band I’ve listened to for a little while. While I love the genre, I also want to sort of start sharing other genre’s that I actually enjoy. Including HAPPIER music that I like. Looking back on all that I’ve written before (and actually have written now I intended to add to a queue) it kind of makes me look like I’m constantly depressed. All this sad music I’m sure has to have some effect, or at least look that way right?

Yet it doesn’t. I actually am a pretty optimistic, happy guy. Sad music is just my release.

I digress though! This is a music review, and there needs to be music to play.

So this week’s album is from a new band I found called “Wolfheart” that I actually really like. It’s a little bit more atmospheric than vocal, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. In fact I think that’s actually a  big strength to this entire album. I ended up putting it on in the background while I was brainstorming ideas for several short stories that I was thinking of writing up, and some research for other stories.

The biggest issue that I’ve found (and consider both a weakness, and a strength) is that there’s really no distinctive differences between one song from another. It all sort of melds together in one long song if you’re not paying attention to it. The strength of this of course being that the entire album works as a singular cohesive track, while the weakness of it being that there’s just not one song that stands out. If you like a certain part/riff, you have to go and look for it yourself via the portion of the album you’re already in. Plus, listening to it solo might not work as well if you didn’t have the last 20 minutes build up to it.

The only real portion of the album that actually gets noticeably different is near the end – but only because the music gets a bit slower and softer. Which makes sense since we’re winding down to the finale and all.

All in all, not the best that’s out there. If you’re looking for more vocal music to listen to then you might want to give Wolfheart a bit of a pass. However if you like having music on in the background while you work, clean, or generally do whatever (like I do) then Wolfheart is excellent to listen to. I actually have this album specifically in my rotation depending on what sort of mood I’m trying to hit.

Leave a comment